|Belgrade , Knez Mihailova|
Belgrade Attractions - Delijska Drinking Fountain is one of the most visited public fountains in Belgrade. It has been demolished several times to its foundations and is today a very recognizable symbol of our city. It is located on Knez Mihailova Street and it is certain that the promenade would not look the same without a faucet. Like almost every public fountain in Belgrade, Delijska Drinking Fountain stands to remind us of the turbulent history of our city as a unique monument of the past.
The name of the Delijska Drinking Fountain is related to the time when the Delija Konak, a horseman of the Turkish army, was located in the area of today's Knez Mihailova street. It is believed to have been erected in 1843 and was still called the Prince's Fountain in honor of Prince Alexander Karadjordjevic, who built it. A white marble fountain and six corners replaced Belgrade's waterworks until the late 20th century. It is known that the first Delijska drinking fountain was demolished in 1889 and a new fountain of the same name was built in the same place.
The second Delijska fountain was demolished at the beginning of the 20th century for laying the foundations of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts and will remain so until 1987, when the third faucet was built, where it is today.